Diversity in Learning

Standard
Diversity Mask by Spiva Arts, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  Spiva Arts 

Professor Chris Dede’s quote about the diversity of learning, as shared in the Week 6 readings, is a good reminder of the need to be flexible in our teaching approaches. As a student I have been grateful that I have not been restricted to certain readings or focus for the course – it has given me an opportunity to focus my learning on an area that is practical and revelant for me. As a teacher, I need to consider this element of choice in the learning for my students. One way would be to ensure the networked learning activity I implement in my learning context is structured to support inquiry-based learning which can enable students to explore problems, ask questions and make discoveries that fulfill their personal curiosities (Drexler, 2010).

Reference

Drexler, W. (2010). The networked student model for construction of personal learning environments: Balancing teacher control and student autonomy. Australasian Journal of Educational Technology, 26(3), 369-385. Retrieved from: http://www.ascilite.org.au/ajet/ajet26/drexler.html

One thought on “Diversity in Learning

Leave a Reply

